Hello!! As some of you may know, my name is Shannon. I am 20 years old and about to embark on my first Me to We trip to India. Me to We is a social enterprise that aims to change the world in a sustainable way. I have been a part of the WE movement for 8 years now, and it has completely changed the way I view the world. I am incredibly passionate about social justice issues and doing everything and anything I can to help others, whether they are in my community, or one far away. I spend my free time studying and volunteering and can’t wait to put all my knowledge and motivation into action!

While in India, I hope to learn a lot about the country’s culture, while also help build a stronger community. The majority of my trip will involve building a school for children in a small rural village who currently have limited  opportunity to get an education. In addition, we will also be working to empower women in the community and help them plant more sustainable crops and have more accessible, clean water. The actions we participate in in their community will help increase the quality of life of all community members in a society where the cycle of poverty is nearly impossible to break.

I am incredibly excited about this opportunity and hope that you will all come along on this journey with me! I will be using this space to post updates on my fundraising efforts, information about India, Me to We, and other interesting tid-bits as I prepare for my trip! Finally, there will be a final set of posts to tell you all about my experience. I can’t wait for us to go on this adventure together!

My first fundraising attempt will be in the form of a Tilt page, where I will spread the word of my journey on social media platforms, gain support and donations from my community, family and friends. To help in the first phase, please visit my Tilt page and donate anything you can spare. If this is not an option right now, STAY TUNED!! There is more opportunities to come!!

For more information on Me to We, Trips, or merchandise, I encourage you to visit these websites and learn about the power of WE

Start  a WE movement in your school

Shop Me To We .

